Assault

Being accused of assault in Missouri is an unnerving experience that could yield significant consequences. There are three levels of assault charges in Missouri. All three levels can carry penalties and for this reason should lead to the insight of an experienced Missouri assault defense attorney. These charges are outlined under Missouri Statutes 565.070, 565.060, 558.011, and 560.011. 

Assault in the Third Degree - Misdemeanor 

An individual could be found guilty of assault in the third degree if the following conditions are met:

  • The person accused has recklessly caused or physically injured another person 
  • Uses a deadly weapon to injure someone else 
  • Purposely threatens someone else or causes that person to feel afraid that he or she may be facing imminent danger 
  • Intentionally engages in activity or conduct that would lead the victim to feel threatened with the knowledge that the victim will find the contact threatening or abusive

Get guidance today for your assault charges

Contact me

Assault in the Second Degree -Felony 

An individual may be found guilty of assault in the second degree if the following conditions are met: 

  • Tries to kill another person or attempts to cause physical injury to someone else 
  • Knowingly causes physical injury to someone else using a deadly weapon or dangerous tool/instrument
  • Recklessly causes physical harm to someone else 
  • Operates a motor vehicle with reckless or criminally negligent behavior to cause physical injury to someone else 

If convicted of assault in the second degree, a Class C felony, this could be punished seven years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. 

Assault in the First Degree -Felony 

Someone can be accused and convicted of assault in the first degree: 

  • Attempts to kill someone else 
  • Attempts to cause or knowingly causes serious physical harm to someone else. 

If the victim sustains serious physical injury as a result of the assault, this can be tried as a Class A felony with 10 to 30 years or life in prison. If a first-degree assault does not lead to serious physical harm, this is a Class B felony punished by up to 15 years in prison. 

Why You Need to Hire an Attorney

Trying to handle a case like this on your own or working with an appointed attorney can be a big mistake for your future. You need to protect your future by hiring a Missouri criminal defense lawyer who protects your rights. Having someone advocating for you is vital during this challenging and overwhelming. 

An attorney can help you evaluate the legal aspects of your case and determine the most appropriate course of action for your defense. Hiring the right attorney can have a big impact on your case. If convicted, you could be facing serious penalties and a major influence on your future. Hire an attorney who will keep you informed from the start of your case so that you can make informed decisions about how to proceed. 

Assault Attorney in Kansas City, Missouri

I'm here to defend for you for your Assault charge. Set up an initial consultation with Crozier Law as soon as possible to discuss your legal options going forward. I can give you personalized attention to your situation and ease your concerns when facing these charges. You're not alone. Schedule an appointment with me today.