DUI/DWI

When you are pulled over and see the flashing lights behind you, this situation can go from bad to worse if the officer suspects that you have been drinking and driving. If you are charged with and convicted of driving while under the influence in the state of Missouri, you could be facing serious penalties. The best way to protect your rights is to retain a Missouri DWI attorney as soon as possible.

Make an Informed Decision

Retaining an attorney sooner rather than later is the best way to evaluate all of your options and make an informed decision going forward. For example, it may make sense to challenge your case and take it all the way to trial, but in other situations, the best way to minimize or eliminate the harshest penalties you could be facing is to negotiate a plea bargain. You can do this with the help of your Missouri DWI defense attorney.

Penalties for DUI in Missouri

For the first offense of a DUI in Missouri you could be looking at up to 6 months in jail, a fine of up to $500, and a 30-day license suspension period. These penalties increase with the second, third, or subsequent offenses. For a second offense, you could be looking at up to one year in jail, a one-year license suspension and up to $1000 in fines. For a third offense, you could be looking at up to four years in jail, a fine of up to $5000 and having your license suspended for up to 10 years. Obviously, all of these consequences can have a significant impact on your life and ability to work.

Get help from an DWI/DUI attorney today

Contact Me

What You Should Know About Chemical Tests in Missouri

Since Missouri is like many other states with an implied consent law on the books, if you refuse to submit to a chemical test after an officer's request, you could be subject to automatic license suspension as well as a fine.

How long you lose your license depends on whether or not this is your first offense:

  • For your first offense, this includes a one-year period of a revoked license.
  • For a second offense, you must have an ignition interlock device installed and you will have your license revoked for a year.
  • For your third offense, you must have an ignition interlock device installed and will lose your license for up to a year.

How Can an Attorney Help Me?

Working with an experienced Missouri DWI defense attorney is the only way to protect your rights. You need someone you can reach out to during your time of need and you need to understand how your case is likely to proceed in the criminal justice system.

The Missouri statutes that apply to driving under the influence for administrative license suspension are 302.525 and the general criminal statute of limitations is outlined under 556.036. For a felony including a third or subsequent DWI, the statute of limitations is 3 years but for a misdemeanor including first and second offense DWI, the limitation is one year.  

DWI/DUI Attorney in Kansas City, Missouri

I'm here to defend for you. Make sure you set up an initial consultation with Crozier Law as soon as possible to discuss your legal options going forward. I can give you personalized attention and ease your concerns when facing DWI/DUI charges. You're not alone. Schedule an appointment with me today.