Unfortunately, Missouri's drug laws are extremely strict and this means that a conviction of any kind of drug possession charge can follow you for years to come. Many individuals who have been accused of their first drug possession crime are overwhelmed and confused by the fact that such strict penalties can be enforced immediately.
Possession is a Serious Matter
Drug possession is a serious matter and one that requires insight from a knowledgeable Missouri drug possession lawyer. There is too much on the line for your future to leave this up to chance, so you need to speak to an attorney you can trust. Selecting a lawyer who cares about your rights and future is essential so that you know what to expect as your case unfolds. A drug possession charge can continue to follow you for years to come, so you need to act quickly to get help from an experienced attorney.
What to Expect if You’re Charged
If you are caught with drugs in your car or on your person, you could be facing significant penalties. Although many other states have quantity requirements and relatively soft penalties for a first time offender, Missouri handles things in their own unique way. One such example involves cocaine possession. There is no minimum amount required in order for you to be prosecuted to the fullest extent possible under the law.
Even a minuscule amount could lead to jail time. Elsewhere, simple possession might be classified as a misdemeanor but in Missouri this is categorized as a class C felony, meaning that a convicted offender could be looking at a minimum of 1 year in jail and up to 7 years in jail.